The Friday Face-Off: You Got The Blues


Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme here at Books by Proxy. Join me every Friday as I pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Falcons of Fire and Ice by Karen Maitland


Welcome to this week’s Friday Face-Off! This week we’re looking at covers are predominantly blue!

Published by Penguin / Michael Joseph, The Falcons of Fire and Ice is a work of historical fiction written by one of my favourite authors, Karen Maitland. This Face-Off features the stunning  covers for the hardback and paperback editions of the book and, as usual, has created something of a dilemma of choice! Scroll down to see which one wins the Face-Off this week!


Penguin – Paperback Cover

Artwork by Mark Swan

Penguin – Hardback Cover

Artwork by Gray318


| The Friday Face-Off: Winner |

I honestly love both these covers which has led to a very difficult decision this week – as tempted as I was to call it a draw! The paperback is a splash of fire on ice, a decorative and elaborate typeface on a cool and muted backdrop. I love that misty, faded tree-scape and the vibrancy of the fiery falcon – this entire composition is very evocative.

The hardback meanwhile takes us back to the gorgeous stylised covers of Maitland’s previous novels – a style which I absolutely adore! Both bold and eye-catching, this illustrative style works well for the themes and period in which the books are set whilst capturing the wit and verve of Maitland’s writing. I love the splashes of colour and the woodblock print-style typeface which all come together to create one wonderful composition. This style of cover will never fail to please me!

Which cover wins your vote this week? Have a cover of your own? – Post the link below!

Amazon | The Book Depository | Goodreads


Post LinksNext week’s theme is: Which Witch is Which?

A cover which features a witch and/or witchcraft

Remember to check The Friday Face-Off Feature Page for upcoming themes

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: You Got The Blues

  1. Hm… this IS a hard one – partly because the approach and tone of each cover is so very different. But I think I’m going to plump for the OTHER one – I love the blue misty landscape with the sudden splash of orange with the blazing falcon, carrying through to the title font. So eye-catching, clever and beautiful… Is the book a good ‘un? Once more – thank for you this meme:) I get such fun choosing the books with appropriate covers…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you’re very welcome – I have so much fun doing it so I’m glad others join in too! And both these covers are wonderful for so very different reasons – I find that misty landscape quite breathtaking! I’ve not read this one yet but I wholeheartedly recommend Maitland’s writing. It is quite dark though!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They are both lovely… I even made a draw image but decided to be firm with myself! That icy smoky blue of the paperback really is gorgeous though but I just couldn’t resist the hardback!

      Like

  2. I prefer the look of the paperback cover, but as someone who can be very particular about books matching/looking nice together I can definitely understand the appeal of cover art that coordinates with the author’s previous books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the overall tone of the paperback- very medieval feel, whereas the hardback seems more mod to me with the bright and punchy colors and bold round type. The clear silhouettes of the paperback also appeal to me, and all the little details in the font- the vines are a nice, subtle touch. They’re both beautiful though, lovely works. But it’s all opinion, and I know mine is influenced by my dislike of yellow…though I do like it combined with black. And I love the feathers/beaks all over the mountain/volcano- the hardback is definitely growing on me, as I type in fact. Despite seeming simpler, almost child-like first, it’s a sophisticated design.
    Damn, now I’m torn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! That always happens to me. The more I analyse the cover, the more it tends to appeal! I actually started this face-off with a distinct draw and changed it last minute because the hardback pushed the balance! I do love the bold and punchy type and all those wonderful little illustrations in the volcano. Just my kind of thing! 😀 But where the hardback is brazen in displaying its wares, the paperback is soft and beautiful. Definitely a tough choice!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

