Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten… Book Festivals in the UK


Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday – a weekly feature from The Broke and the Bookish, now hosted by ThatArtsyReaderGirl. Expect a new top ten list every week!


| Top Ten… Book Festivals in the UK |

Despite a lifelong love of literature I have been to painfully few book or arts festivals. My only and thus most memorable festival was GollanczFest – a must for fans of modern science fiction and fantasy.

It was at GollanczFest 2015 that I discovered Aliette de Bodard, Richard K. Morgan and Sarah Pinborough; and it was at GollanczFest 2015 that I first met Ben Aaronovitch, Brandon Sanderson, Joe Hill and Joanne Harris. With incredible panels, talks, book sales and signings amongst so many brilliant and like-minded individuals, it really was a memorable experience.

Luckily, under normal circumstances, the UK boasts multiple world renowned literature festivals throughout the year which I have collated, in no particular order, into my Top Ten book festival wishlist.

Scroll down for this week’s Top Ten… Book Festivals in the UK.heart

| Speculative Fiction Festivals |

| 1. |

GollanczFest

London / Manchester, England

heart

| 2. |

Cymera Festival

Edinburgh, Scotland

heart

| 3. |

Discworld Convention

Birmingham, England

heart

| The Big Three |

| 4. |

The Hay Festival of Literature & Arts

Hay-on-Wye, Wales

heart

| 5. |

Cheltenham Literature Festival

Cheltenham, England

heart

| 6. |

Edinburgh International Book Festival

Edinburgh, Scotland

heart

| Crime Fiction Festivals |

| 7. |

Noirwich Crime Writing Festival

Norwich, England

heart

| 8. |

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival

Harrogate, England

heart

| Something Different |

| 9. |

Wealdon Literary Festival

Kent, England

heart

| 10. |

Port Eliot Festival

Cornwall, England

heart

Which books festivals have you been to? Which would you love to go to?

If you would like to join in with Top Ten Tuesday, head on over to ThatArtsyReaderGirl and sign up!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten… Book Festivals in the UK

  1. Frankfurter Buchmesse and Leipziger Buchmesse.
    First one is only 100km away but I’ve never attended. I always thought that my genre is undervalued in that snobby book business.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I love the Hay Festival, I was so sad not to be able to go this year, and I went to Cheltenham Festival last year and really enjoyed it. GollanczFest sounds like so much fun! I’d love to go to Port Eliot Festival too, purely because I adore Cornwall.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh very nice!! Apparently the Port Eliot festival is no more due to costs! I was in awe of the pictures though – it looks so summery and fun!

      I do wish there were a few more up north though! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. At one stage I was on an organising committee for a Discworld convention here in Australia, even though I still haven’t been to one. I would also love to go to Hay.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t claim them as my own – thank you official websites. I only wish I could have been to them!… Incidentally the only one I’ve been to I dont have any photos of!

      Like

  4. I don’t go to book festivals 😦 really should. The events company I work for used to provide all of the power/lighting etc … for Hayfest.

    Considering I live in the (east) midlands, I’m really not massively far away from any of these … well, except Haye 😂 should put the effort in

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve sadly never been to a literary festival, but I would love to and many of these sound great, so I will have to keep quite a few of these in mind once we are back to more normal life. Just got to think of someone to drag along with me 😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment