The Friday Face-Off: The Road Goes Ever On and On


Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a weekly meme here at Books by Proxy. Join me every Friday as I pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe. Check out Lynn’s-Books for upcoming themes!


Carpe Jugulum by Terry Pratchett


Welcome to the Friday Face-Off where this week we’re comparing covers featuring a dark road!

After last week’s edition took me to Discworld, I couldn’t resist going there again with Carpe Jugulum by Terry Pratchett! And with a wonderful collection of covers, it was difficult only choosing two to compare!

This week’s offerings are the Pocket 2011 French cover with incredible artwork by Marc Simonetti and the Collector’s Library edition from Doubleday with artwork by Joe McLaren. Take a look and see which one is your favourite!


Pocket 2011 | Cover #1

Artwork by Marc Simonetti

Doubleday 2016 | Cover #2

Artwork by Joe McLaren


| The Friday Face-Off: Winner |

The Doubleday cover is a nice addition to the Collector’s Library – block colours, a simple illustration working in silhouettes and negative space, and a dramatic vista. I love the lonely figure walking up a long and crooked road towards Lancre Castle, and I love the silhouettes of the witches on broomsticks as they fly across the sky.

The artwork for the French edition is incredible, however, and the more I look at Marc SImonetti’s artwork the more in love I am with it. It is, quite simply, breathtaking. I love the smokey blues and pinks as they rise up to Lancre Castle concealing another dark and crooked road. I love the slender figure of Mightily Oats, the powerful stance of the Witches of Lancre and the sword-swinging action of Verence II. This eye-catching and imaginative cover is most definitely my favourite.

Discworld artwork by Marc Simonetti

Which cover wins your vote this week? Have a cover of your own? – Post the link below!

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads


Next week’s theme is:

Cold and Crisp

A cover with a cold and wintry feel

Remember to check Lynn’s Books for upcoming themes


| Links |

Lynn @ Lynn’s Books

Mogsy @ The Bibliosanctum

Steve @ Books and Beyond Reviews

Sarah @ Brainfluff

Tammy @ Books, Bones and Buffy

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

18 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: The Road Goes Ever On and On

  1. Oh yes – I’ll always be a diehard for Josh Kirby and Paul Kidby’s covers – but I’ll happily agree that many of Simonetti’s designs also beautifully encapsulate the sense of mischief and mayhem that pervades the Discworld! And what a great choice for this week – which I found a bit tricky…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m with you there – I struggled until I realised I’d looked at a cover with a road the week before!
      I really love Simonetti’s artwork. The typeface of the edition isn’t very complimentary but the image definitely speaks for itself! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll always love those Collector’s covers but the French cover def took it in this one. I love all the details on the cover. Love the facial expression of the person with the sword and even the knobby socks of the witch in the foreground. There’s a lot going on, but it doesn’t seem too busy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment